Gary Neville retires

Gary Neville, the Manchester United defender, who made 85 appearances for England, has announced his retirement from professional football.

Neville, 35, has made 602 appearances for United since his debut in 1992, winning two European Cups, three FA Cups, two League Cups and eight Premier League crowns.

Gary Neville – 602 Manchester United appearances

“I have been a Manchester United fan all my life and fulfilled every dream I’ve ever had,” he said.

“I am disappointed that my playing days are at an end. However, it comes to us all and it’s knowing when that time is and for me that time is now.”

“I have played in the most incredible football teams, playing with some of the best players in the world as well as against them and I have been lucky to be a part of the team’s achievements and the club’s great success.

“There are so many people I want to thank and of course top of that list is Sir Alex Ferguson.

“He has given me so many opportunities and countless support over the last 20 years. He is truly one of the greatest managers and I have to thank him for that.”

Love him or hate him, Gary Neville has been one of the best and most consistent defenders in the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

So congratulations Gary, and good luck for the future.

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Premier League and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

