Andy Carroll vows to prove himself at Liverpool

The £35m Man: Liverpool Striker Andy Carroll

Andy Carroll, Liverpool’s £35m record-signing, has vowed that he will prove he is worth every penny of his transfer fee.

Carroll, 22, made the move to Anfield on transfer deadline day from Newcastle United, to take over as Liverpool’s number nine, from the outgoing Spaniard, Chelsea’s £50m British-record transfer, Fernando Torres.

And although Carroll believes that the vast fee spent on himself is a lot, he feels as though he has what it takes to make a success of himself with the five-time European Cup winners.

“It is a lot of money to spend,” Carroll said.

“I have only really had half a season in the Premier League, but that is the confidence he [Dalglish] has in me and that is what I am here to repay.

“It’s a great chance for me to come to a club like Liverpool and show what I can do.

“I’ve been at Newcastle all my life and I’ve shown what I can do there, but stepping way from where I’ve been brought up and know everyone, it’s a big change for me – But I’m sure I can prove it here as well.”

The England international striker is also aware that the media spotlight will also be glaring down on the way he conducts himself off-the-field, especially after previous brushes with the law.

But Carroll, who had 11 Premier League goals to his name this season in the black and white of Newcastle before his swith to the red side of the Mersey, is ready to put the past firmly behind him.

“I am aware that the spotlight’s on me” added Carroll.

“Whoever it was – given the money they have spent on me – was going to be followed around.

“I know they will be watching what I’m doing – I am aware of that – I have to deal with it and take it in my stride.

“I don’t mind a pint now and again, but that is the way I have been brought up, that’s who I am and I am not really going to change.

“I am just going to carry on playing my football, keep my head down and do it at the right time.

“I have made some mistakes in the past, but they are all behind me – I have just got to move on into the future.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Premier League, Transfers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

