Birmingham City midfielder Lee Bowyer expects summer exit

Lee Bowyer, the Birmingham City midfielder who was instrumental in his sides Carling Cup victory over Arsenal on Sunday, expects to leave the club in the summer.

Out-of-contract in the summer - Lee Bowyer

The 34-year-old midfielder will be out of contract in the summer, and the former Leeds, Newcastle and West Ham midfielder doesn’t expect the board at St. Andrews to offer him a new deal.

When asked if he was to be offered a new deal with the club, the midfielder answered frankly: “I think at the moment the club have said ‘no’.

“That is not going to happen so I’ll be looking elsewhere. They might change their mind and keep me on, you never know. But that is up to the club.”

However, Bowyer insists that he wants to remain at St Andrews, and believes that he can still perform in the Premier League but admitted: “It is out of my hands. All I can do is try to put on performances.”

“Because of your age, people still question whether you can still get box to box, if you can still do what you used to do. But I think I showed against Arsenal that I obviously can.

“I’ve scored important goals this season, against Chelsea, Manchester United and in the semi-final against West Ham. I’ve also got a good track record in Europe as well, I’ve scored quite a few goals in Europe.

“I’ve been doing it my whole career. Nothing has changed, apart from my age. I’ve just got older and wiser and just tried to calm down.

“My deal is done here in the summer at Birmingham. I can still do the business so we will see what happens.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Premier League and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

