Niko Kranjcar to leave Spurs this summer

Niko Kranjcar - Set to leave Spurs this summer

Tottenham Hotspur’s Croatian international midfielder Niko Kranjcar will leave White Hart Lane this summer.

The attacking midfielder was taken to Spurs by Harry Redknapp in 2009, having won the FA Cup with Redknapp and Portsmouth in 2008, and he enjoyed a fruitful debut season at White Hart Lane, being an important part of the side that qualified for the Champions League.

However, Kranjcar has had to make do with being a bit-part player for Redknapp’s side during the present campaign, starting only two Premier League matches, largely due to the emergence of Gareth Bale and the January signing of Steven Pienaar.

Nonetheless, whilst the Kranjcar’s stock in North London may have fallen this campaign, his talent is recognised elsewhere, both within the British Isles and across mainland Europe. Moreover, he remains a key player within the Croatian international set-up, and played well in their friendly draw with France on Tuesday evening.

Now 26, due to turn 27 in August,  Kranjcar, believes that he must be playing regular football week-in, week-out and is preparing to move to get his wish.

When asked about his future, and whether he would be remaining at White Hart Lane this summer, Kranjcar responded: “This is the most frustrating situation I have had in my career. I need to find a football club where I can play regularly, like any footballer would.”

“I’m ambitious, I want to play football. Especially in my best years.

“If I was a young lad, obviously I would wait for my chance, especially being in a big club like Spurs. But, obviously, 27, 28, 29 years is, I think, the best footballing years.

“Everyone knows I can play at the highest level. But week in week out, I’ll only come on as a sub.”

Kranjcar was linked with the likes of Everton, Newcastle United and Italian giants Juventus during the January transfer window and that trio are likely to be interested once more, come summer. Until then however, the 64-cap Croatian won’t be kicking down the doors of his Tottenham boss demanding a starting place.

“It’s not for me to question the manager’s decision” added Kranjcar.

“I respect him and must wait for my opportunity to play again.

“Harry’s the one who takes the blame for good and bad results – and obviously it’s going great for us this season again.

“The team at Spurs is amazing. The amount of talent we’ve got is ridiculous.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Europe, Premier League, Transfers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

