Guus Hiddink cools Chelsea talk saying he’s “fully focused” on matters at hand with Turkey

Guus Hiddink - cooling talk of a move to Chelsea, but not completely removing himself from the race

Guus Hiddink has played down talk of a potential return to Chelsea as a replacement for Carlo Ancelotti, the Italian who was unceremoniously sacked just hours after the end of the Premier League season.

Hiddink, who lead the Blues to the 2009 FA Cup during a four-month spells the club’s interim manager, is one of the favourites with bookmakers to return to Stamford Bridge on a permanent basis this summer.

However, the experienced Dutchman says that he is taking no notice of the speculation emanating from West London, and is only focused on leading Turkey to victory against Belgium in a Euro 2012 qualifier at the beginning of June.

“I have heard a lot of rumours and speculation. I have told the players they must focus on Belgium and the same goes for me. I am fully focused on getting the team ready for next Friday,” said Hiddink on the television programme, 100% Futbol.

Nevertheless, the Dutchman did make a curious remark – regarding working with players on a day-to-day basis – that may lead Roman Abramovich, the Chelsea owner, to believe that he has hope of prizing the former Russia, Australia, South Korea and PSV Eindhoven tactician away from his current employers

“I have in my career very few games. I want to do more with the players on a daily basis but that is impossible because I am national team manager” said Hiddink.

“But I am not going into the speculation as I have to prepare the team and to make sure that no one can blame me afterwards saying I was concentrating on other things.

“I am not going into speculation, I am fully concentrated. I demand full commitment from myself so I will not go into speculation.

“I am being forced by circumstances to go into a tunnel and exclude a little bit the outside world.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Europe, International, Premier League and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

