Carlo Ancelotti to take a one-year sabbatical

Carlo Ancelotti - to take time away from management

Former Chelsea manager Carlo Ancelotti will not become the new manager of Aston Villa but will instead be taking a one-year coaching sabbatical, he has told Italian newspaper La Stampa.

The 51-year-old Italian, twice a European Cup winner whilst in charge of AC Milan, was the number one target of Villa owner Randy Lerner and chief executive Paul Faulkner. However, the man who led Chelsea to a Premier League and FA Cup double in 2010 has announced that he is to take a break from coaching.

“I am in no hurry to coach and I don’t need to” Ancelotti told La Stampa.

“I have not been contacted by any club in England and I have not spoken to Roma. It is all fantasy.”

The experienced Ancelotti, who has been linked with the vacant manager’s job at AS Roma, with whom he has boyhood links and where he has one day vowed to return as a coach, will now take a year to study his peers after a two-year spell in west London.

“I have enjoyed this experience [of coaching in England]. I will return to London to organise my life,” he added.

“Besides a six-month break, I have been coaching non-stop since 1995. I will take a year off and look around, study how my colleagues work.

“I have always said, and I reiterate it, that one day I will coach Roma – but it’s still early.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in Champions League, England, Europe, Italy, Premier League and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

