Wolves sign Jamie O’Hara in £5m deal

Jamie O'Hara, has penned a five-year deal at Molineux

Wolverhampton Wanderers have made their first signing of the summer, spending £5m on Jamie O’Hara, to turn the midfielder’s loan move from Tottenham Hotspur into a permanent deal.

O’Hara, 24,  joined Wolves in January, and played a key role in helping them win their battle with relegation, albeit by the tightest of margins, scoring three goals in 13 appearances.

The player has penned a five-year deal with the club, and Wolves boss Mick McCarthy is delighted to have taken the former England under-21 international to Molineux on a permanent basis.

“I am delighted the deal has been done which will see Jamie become a permanent Wolves player,” said McCarthy.

“It may have taken a bit of time to finalise all the details but it was always going to happen because we wanted to sign him and he wanted to come.”

O’Hara leaves Spurs after loan spells at both Wolves and Portsmouth the previous year, and says that although it is a wrench to leave the club he supports, he is glad to feel wanted at his new club.

“It’s going to be sad leaving Tottenham. I had a great career there and the fans were always different class with me,” said O’Hara.

“I’ll always support Spurs but it’s one of those things. I had to move on.

“The chairman and the manager at Wolves put a lot of faith in me after I had been out for a long time with a back problem.

“I was put straight into the side and to make a permanent move now after a scary end to the season is brilliant.

“I didn’t even ask for a five-year deal. They offered me it. It is fantastic. It shows they wanted me and wanted me to be here for the long haul.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Premier League, Transfers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

