Kyle Walker offers his opinions of Tom Cleverley, learning from Glen Johnson and why he may go on-loan once more

Adventurous full-back knows he needs first-team football to cement a place at Euro 2012

Tottenham Hotspur’s highly-rated full-back Kyle Walker has put a host of Premier League clubs on alert by saying that he is willing to go out on-loan once more this season to secure first-team football if it isn’t forthcoming at White Hart Lane.

Walker, currently on international duty with the England senior squad, has had an almost meteoric last 12 months, impressing on-loan at both QPR – in the Championship – and Aston Villa in separate spells last season, whilst being one of England’s stand-out players at the under-21 European Championships this summer.

Now back at Spurs, the full-back is looking to impress Harry Redknapp and force his way into the Spurs first team, but won’t discount the possibility of another short-term move away, as he looks to forge an England career for himself, having spoken to Fabio Capello, who has told the player he must be playing regularly to be selected.

“Hopefully I can break into the Tottenham team. There’s a lot of top class players there, it’s going to be difficult, but I’m willing to try to put in the effort and the work that will hopefully get me there.”

“Me and the gaffer’s had a conversation and he did say that I would be in contention for the right-back slot. Hopefully I can do the work on the training pitch and then hopefully get my chance for the games and show people what I can do.”

When asked whether he would consider a move away should regular football not be forthcoming the player continued: “It is possible. I want to play football and I want to play football at Premier League level.

“I went to Villa and I thought I did okay there. I think there’s still more to come from me. To be in the England squad you need to be playing Premier League football so hopefully I can get in the Tottenham team and go from there.”

Rave reviews at the European under-21 Championships have seen his stock soar amongst England supporters, has been tipped in numerous circles as the man most-likely to go to Euro 2012 as the main challenger to Glen Johnson, despite the former Sheffield United youngster having yet to make his senior debut for the national team.

And Walker, who says it is an honour just to be a part of the senior squad, training with the likes of Rio Ferdinand and John Terry, is looking to learn from the Liverpool defender.

“Jonno is a great right-back and someone I watch – how he goes forward and everything – and is someone who I like to learn off. It’s not really my choice to make the team or anything like that but I’d like to think I was in contention.”

Finally, the tigerish defender was also full of praise for Tom Cleverley, the Manchester United youngster who has been added to the squad following the withdrawals of Michael Carrick and Jack Wilshere.

“Tom’s a great player” offered Walker.

“You’ve seen yesterday what he can do on the ball. We have a good understanding together (having played together for the England under-21’s) and he’s a great lad off the pitch which makes a big difference as well. He can deliver a ball, has a very good passing range and has got a good football brain.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in Championship, England, International, Premier League and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

