Manchester United star Nani wants to be remembered

Nani hopes that in the future people remember him for not only his talent but also the trophies that he won

Manchester United’s mercurial winger Nani has told how, after five years at Old Trafford, he now feels as though he is showing his best form and that he is working hard to be remembered.

The 24-year-old has been consistently outstanding for the last 12 months or so, being voted United’s Player of the Year by team-mates last season, and continuing his impressive form with three goals in four matches this season.

“Hopefully, when I have finished playing football, people will say ‘Nani was a fantastic player who won a lot of titles and beat records at the club’ or something like that” the Portugese told Inside United.

“I know I have the condition to be among the select best players in the world, but I have to work hard and show that.

“Sometimes that doesn’t happen, but what I can promise is that as long as I am a football player, I will do my best to try to get there.”

Nani was long in the shadow of Cristiano Ronaldo at Old Trafford, but has really come to the fore since Ronaldo’s £80m world record move to Real Madrid in 2009 and shares a similar dream to his former colleague.

“That’s one dream I’ve got: to be the best in the world,” continued Nani.

“But I don’t let it frustrate me. I’m not like: ‘I have to be the best in the world’, because I have other priorities like winning trophies with the team.”

About AA_Richards

Football writer & all-round pen for hire. Can tiki-taka or counter-attack at pace. Differentiates Athletic from Atletico. Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/AA_Richards
This entry was posted in England, Premier League and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

